Pre-departure

In the last months the trip has slowly taken a form in my head. Reading different blogs, books or experiences of other bike tourers and riding myself from Munich to Trieste helped a lot to understand the challenges of the trip, to prepare myself and to put everything in the right perspective. The idea of riding East remains, as well as the dream of getting to Sydney, but I don’t want to plan every single details of the route. I’ve divided the trip into different legs; what’s gonna happen between these legs hasn’t really been defined. Another important realization is that I’ve never thought of this trip as a mad run to Sydney, but rather as an occasion to ride through small villages, to experience a different lifestyle and to stop in places I would never visit otherwise.

Back to practicalities! Departure date should now be fixed for the 1st of November, that is less than a month from now; I’m trying to organize something so that it might become a small event. I’ll post more about it in due time. Until then I will try to shorten as much as I can my to-do list, relax and have some nice rides such as this one I had yesterday (here and here some pictures).

Leave a Reply

